Unsure which method to store/play ripped DVD's and Blu-rays

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Worldwide-Collection

Unsure which method to store/play ripped DVD's and Blu-rays

Post by Worldwide-Collection »

Hi
I'm new to the DVD, Blu-ray ripping world. I'm unsure on how I should store/playback my several hundred DVD's I and family members bought from the mid 2000s-2023 and the dozen or so HD and 4K Blue-rays I plan to acquire in the coming months. I have two methods in mind, first one is to rip them to a BDMV file then transferred to an external HDD drive for playback via VLC? My second option is to transfer the files to a internal SATA drive via an adapter and then install it on a Zidoo media player or similar to be watched on either the sitting room Samsung 720P Plasma tv or the LG HD tv in my bedroom.

Which one would be the most budget friendly and easiest method of storing and playing back all of the DVDS and Blue-rays with all of the menus and subtitles intact due to a significant amount of them being foreign imports mostly from USA and Mexico. I'm in the UK btw.
DukeFleed

Re: Unsure which method to store/play ripped DVD's and Blu-rays

Post by DukeFleed »

Hi.

I don't know which one is best for you, but I can tell you how I did it. I have a DVD/BD collection of more than 1000 titles, but Blurays only account for 10-20%. I backed up the DVDs that I care about most, while for the Blurays I backed up all the ones I have, this is because I realized that they are much more fragile than DVDs and it happened that after a few years they could no longer be seen several titles, and I had to buy them again (and not all of them yet).