Offline operations

Everything related to MakeMKV
rupertm

Offline operations

Post by rupertm »

Hello Forum,

Im new to the MakeMKV family and getting use to the software. I use the software to back up my movies I own and move them to a server where my family can play them from wherever they are in the house. Call me paranoid, but I dont stream and prefer to keep things all local as I dont trust the internet to always be there or like Redfox maybe this access to this remote database wont always be there. Is there a way to download the database of all the discs out there so that I can run completely offline? From what I have read from others on the forum the software links or fetchs keys or something when you are ripping a disk to a harddrive. I know this DB will become obsolete every month as its updated, but at least once in a while I can fetch an update especially if I need something for a new release. But does the software support such a thing and is the DB available for download. If no, any developers reading this how about a feature enhancement for this a possibility in the future?

Thanks
dcoke22

Re: Offline operations

Post by dcoke22 »

MakeMKV only needs to download hashed keys for 4K UHDs. Regular DVDs and blu-rays will just work, no internet connection needed. Once MakeMKV downloads the necessary hashed key for a particular UHD disc, the hashed key is stored locally on your system and will be used to decrypt your disc in the future without needing to download anything from the internet.
Coopervid

Post by Coopervid »

In addition to what dcoke22 wrote, there is the possibility to get UHD keys for unsupprted discs with this method.

viewtopic.php?p=145704#p145704
MrPenguin

Post by MrPenguin »

rupertm wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2024 1:51 am
I know this DB will become obsolete every month as its updated, but at least once in a while I can fetch an update especially if I need something for a new release.