Thomas & Friends - Series 9

Everything related to MakeMKV
StixUK

Thomas & Friends - Series 9

Post by StixUK » Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:42 pm

Hello,

I'm hoping you can give me a little advice on this disc.

I have been ripping children's discs for at least 12 months and I have come across this one today that lists all the 26 episodes in one MKV file and I cannot split it into the 26 Episodes like I have with previous children's discs.

I have tried rolling back to other versions: 1.7.0 1.8.4 1.8.10 and 1.8.11 have all been tried with no luck.

Is this a fault with MKV or is this how the disc has been created?

Also, how can I make it work (i.e have 26 separately labelled episodes instead of 1 4hr 20m DVD in one continous block)?

Any help appreciated.

Stix

Woodstock

Re: Thomas & Friends - Series 9

Post by Woodstock » Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:30 pm

MakeMKV does not split on chapter boundaries right now.

Tools that WILL let you split at chapter boundaries after the rip include the tools in the MKVToolnix set, and Handbrake.

You rip to the monolithic MKV, then you can run the tool of your choice to break it apart. Both can be scripted using batch files.

StixUK

Post by StixUK » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:18 pm

"Both can be scripted using batch files"

Can you elaborate what this means as I am a relative novice when it comes to the intricacies of technology?

Once I have split them, am I then able to convert to MP4 files using Freemake as I compress my MKV to MP4 after I have ripped to MKVfile to hard drive.

Regards

Stix :)

ndjamena

Post by ndjamena » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:33 pm

Does each episode consist of a single chapter in the large file or multiple chapters?

-Edit- or at least do the episodes consist of a predictable number of chapters?

Woodstock

Post by Woodstock » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:12 pm

What ndjamena asks is key.