Problem with burning BD copy - copy disc skips in player

Please post here for issues related to Blu-ray discs
MrRom92

Problem with burning BD copy - copy disc skips in player

Post by MrRom92 »

Hello everyone, I am kinda new to the whole BD ripping/burning thing and am in the process of figuring out the process and setting up a new PC/new drives to be capable of doing this. I have a standard commercially purchased blu ray, single layer movie that I tried to make my first copy of.

I made a decrypted backup in MakeMKV, and no apparent errors occurred during the rip or anything like that.

Then I used IMGburn to write it to a single layer 25gb disc. No apparent errors on write either, and the disc verified after the burn with no read errors or miscompares. I used a quality Sony blank.

I went to play the copy in a player and it seemed like it worked fine, but at one point in the movie about 4 minutes in it skips forward about 30 seconds. And it does it at the same point everytime. Not sure if it skips elsewhere in the movie but I’d guess so.

Playing the original disc in that player does *not* skip at all at this point.

I haven’t tested other players to see if the behavior is any different but regardless, this shouldn’t be happening and I’m gonna be pretty upset if I just turned an expensive BD blank into a coaster 🙃 Anyone have any idea what might be going on?
MrRom92

Re: Problem with burning BD copy - copy disc skips in player

Post by MrRom92 »

Update: just as a test I have a completely different 50GB RE disc that I tried burning the rip to at 2x (yes I know, this isn’t single layer like the source disc but it’s what I have) and put it in the player. I thought that maybe the issue stems from me burning that initial copy at max speed, but this copy also skips at the same exact spot. 🤷🏻‍♀️
MrRom92

Post by MrRom92 »