Bluray audio

Please post here for issues related to Blu-ray discs
maximln

Bluray audio

Post by maximln »

I'm new to this ripping game and I had great success with DVD's but I am having an audio issue with blurays as in I get no audio. I'm sure it is a setting but I cannot figure it out. I have tried it several times but still no audio. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

Max
Woodstock

Re: Bluray audio

Post by Woodstock »

"No audio" can mean many things.

One, your playback environment does not support the audio that was ripped from the disk.
Two, you didn't select any audio to be ripped.

The first you can check by trying to play the MKV in a player that understands more audio codecs, like VLC.

The second can happen when you have set a "Preferred language" and the source disk doesn't have tracks in that language. Removing the preferred audio setting will let MakeMKV rip any language track, but you can also view which tracks have been selected by expanding the title list in the left window.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
maximln

Post by maximln »

Thank you so much for your reply. I have done several DVD's and I have no problem with the audio. It plays both from the file on my computer as well as when I put the file on a USB drive & plug it into my tv. Video & audio are perfect. When I do the blu-ray, the video is perfect but there is no audio on my computer or on my tv when I copy the file onto a USB driver. My TV gives me a message "there is no audio for this file".

I have tried expanding title list and de-selecting & selecting different combos but I still get no audio. I'm sure it is a setting. I will look for the "Preferred language" setting & see if this helps.

Thanks again for your reply!

Max
maximln

Post by maximln »

Still is not working. Is it because it's a commercial bluray? Maybe it has some sort of technology to block it?

Max
maximln

Post by maximln »