Audio/Video Sync Issues Suddenly?!

Please post here for issues related to Blu-ray discs
slim_j

Audio/Video Sync Issues Suddenly?!

Post by slim_j » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:12 pm

I have been ripping blu-rays with no issues for about 2 years, the process i use is as follows:

makemkv - rip blu-ray
Handbrake - crop video
mkvmerge - merge cropped video and audio from original rip

I have never had any problems doing this but over the last 3 months the sync has started getting about 1.5s out (consistently through the film). This seems to be with new films (Brighton Rock, Neds, The Kings Speech) and i wondered whether anyone else has has similar issues?

I have tried to find the lengths of both the audio and video tracks to compare them but no software seems to give me this information?

Any help or suggestions appreciated. Thanx slim_j

setarip_old

Re: Audio/Video Sync Issues Suddenly?!

Post by setarip_old » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:20 pm

Hi!

Check the synch after each step in your stated procedure.

I'd be EXTREMELY surprised if MakeMKV will appear to be the culprit. I'd sooner suspect "Handbrake" and its compression procedure(s)...

slim_j

Post by slim_j » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:34 pm

setarip_old wrote:Hi!

Check the synch after each step in your stated procedure.

I'd be EXTREMELY surprised if MakeMKV will appear to be the culprit. I'd sooner suspect "Handbrake" and its compression procedure(s)...
I have checked the sync after each step and like you say it is fine after the initial makemkv rip so it must be down to Handbrake. I just posted here as i am more likely to find users who follow the same procedure as me and might have encountered the same issue. It has never done it before i haven't changed any settings so it doesn't make any sense.

setarip_old

Post by setarip_old » Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:49 am

it is fine after the initial makemkv rip so it must be down to Handbrake
Although that may prove to be the case, how/why are you excluding MKVMerge as the possible culprit?