Planes

Please post here for issues related to Blu-ray discs
netwrxman

Planes

#1 Post by netwrxman » Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:57 am

Hey guys,

New to the forum and I'm just getting started working with MakeMKV based on some recommendations from various sites for Blu-Ray playback on a new XBMC HTPC that I'm getting ready to build later this week. In the meantime, I thought I'd play with it a bit this week to familiarize myself with it.

After installing, I tried to rip the movie Planes since I thought it would be a good test and I won't have to worry about the kids scratching the disc up in the future. Unfortunately, it wouldn't rip out of the box with the following error message:

"Saving 1 titles into directory D:/Movies/MP4s
Failed to load external DLL 'dtsdecoderdll.dll' as its path is not set in preferences, please see /dtshd for details
Failed to save title 4 to file D:/Movies/MP4s/Planes_t04.mkv"

I tried restarting MakeMKV a couple times, made sure I was selecting the main movie file, etc...still no go. It will successfully rip several other files from the special features on the disc, but not the Primary file. Did some digging here and I read in several threads that the DLL isn't required to rip, but it definitely seemed to be for this movie.

After grabbing the DLL file, enabling Expert mode and adding the file in the Preferences > Advanced tab it is now copying the file although it seems to be speeding up and slowing down as it's writing. At this point, it looks like it's going to be anywhere from 90 min to well over 2 hrs to write.

Are these symptoms normal? Anyone else tried ripping this movie yet? I didn't find a match when I searched for it.

OK, tried to add a screen cap but it says board quota has been reached so I guess I'm SOL :)

kevmitch

Re: Planes

#2 Post by kevmitch » Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:43 am