Is there a way to turn on the read speed?

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Cormaster628

Is there a way to turn on the read speed?

Post by Cormaster628 »

I have a LG WH14NS40 Blur-ray burner, and from what I can tell everyone claims its not riplocked, however ripping movies with makemkv takes hours, because it's only reading at 2x. I can't find an option to turn up the read speed anywhere. I got this drive for christmas so I'm fairly new to the blu-ray burning world and kind of lost, and google searches just bring up vague results. I'm pulling my hair out here! Would dual-layer make a difference vs single layer? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
Woodstock

Re: Is there a way to turn on the read speed?

Post by Woodstock »

I have three of these drives in service on three different computers, and regularly see 5-8X rip speeds on BDs. I've seen as high as 17x on DVDs. It's rarely as low as 2x, except when starting a new track. So the drive IS capable of faster speeds.

Differences can be in the details, though. While the slowest machine I run one of these on is a 2-core Dell from 2005, it has very little else running on it... But I've seen those 8x and 17x speeds while running multiple copies of MakeMKV on that machine.

On my main machine, it stays below 4x on BDs when I'm also running Handbrake, because of memory limitations.

Are you directly attaching the drive to your computer via a SATA cable, or is there a USB/Firewire conversion involved? Is it an original SATA controller, or one of the newer 3- or 6Mb controllers?
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
Cormaster628

Post by Cormaster628 »