Trying extract subtitles into .srt format

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
leopardson

Trying extract subtitles into .srt format

Post by leopardson »

Hi all,

Beginner here. I'm using v1.16.5 winx64 release.

I've been reading several earlier posts on this site on how to extract subtitles from DVDs and BDs (instead of burning them into the video) using makeMKV but it's not very clear on how this can be done.

Some posts mention that creating .srt files is impossible, while others say it is possible. I'm thoroughly confused.

I recently read a thread on using Advanced Options to select mmccextr and mmccextr64 to extract CC, but I'm not having much luck with it as I can't find the output file that mmccextr created.

Some questions I have are:

1)Does the audio/video option need to be selected if I just want to extract just the subtitles (i.e., English)?
2)Where is the output file if .srt files are extracted? Although the .mkv file is created, I don't see the .srt files.
3)Can someone post some screenshots with step by step procedure on what to select?
4)For CC, which file should I use mmccextr or mmccextr64?

Thanks
Woodstock

Re: Trying extract subtitles into .srt format

Post by Woodstock »

DVDs and BDs have their subtitles in PICTURE formats, referred to as VOBSUB and PGS, respectively.

In the case of DVDs, if they have Closed Caption information, MakeMKV can extract that from the video stream as an SRT file (it's already text). There is a problem that some disks do not work well with the program MakeMKV uses for this (ccextractor); in those cases, you either have to wait a long time to rip the disk, or deselect the CC subtitle.