Dolby Vision/ HDR10+ mkv files on newest Nvidia shield pro | plex

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Giffdev

Dolby Vision/ HDR10+ mkv files on newest Nvidia shield pro | plex

Post by Giffdev »

Hey all,
I am new to this hobby of backing up all my movies for Plex, and was happy to see that being late to the party meant that it looks like the latest MakeMKV supports ripping Dolby Vision. I have spent the last few days backing up a bunch of my 4k disks (and dvds and blu rays, but let's forget about them for now) onto a hard drive, which I then plugged into my brand new Nvidia Shield Pro, and set up my first plex server. This was all very exciting, and seeing my library at my fingertips anytime working like a charm was really cool after lurking a lot on the forums learning how to do all this.

However, the one thing keeping me from putting all my disks into storage is that on the Plex app running on my Nvidia shield Pro, I see all my 4k content listed as HDR, even for disks I ripped that I know had Dolby Vision or HDR10+. I know that HDR is great, but I want to eke everything I can out of my tv and system, and would love if someone could clarify why Plex isn't listing this as HDR10+ and/or Dolby Vision when those are presumably available. I am hoping that all I had to do was use the latest version of MakeMKV (and I was especially happy to see my Atmos tracks came over perfectly) would get me the best picture and sound, but now I'm worried that I've done something wrong.

Thanks in advance for any help and tips.

Edit: for bonus points, I thought I'd ripped a few disks that had DTS:X tracks, but they seem to play as Dolby Atmos when playing on plex. Anyone have advice here to what's happening or how to get the DTS:X to be recognized properly? This isn't as big a concern to me as the picture issues, but thought I'd toss it out there :)
Halmearo

Re: Dolby Vision/ HDR10+ mkv files on newest Nvidia shield pro | plex