MKV will play with VLC, not on TV, others do.

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
Black Tiger

MKV will play with VLC, not on TV, others do.

Post by Black Tiger »

I'm really a noob on codecs and properties and stuff, but I'm just wondering if there is a way to convert this.

This is my problem.
I've got several movies on my Asustor NAS system, which can be accessed from my Samsung smart TV which can play MKV files amongst other formats.

However, I've got 2 backups of Harry Potter movies 1080p Blu-ray rips, also with DTS sound, which won't play when I try to access them from my TV.
When accessing over the network via VLC, there is not a single notice or issue.

When trying to access them from my TV, it seems as if they start, but then I get this notice:

"Unknown file format
Videocodec: none".

I've got other MKV files with DTS sound, which play fine. Also other 1080p BR backups have no issue playing. So maybe it's in the files properties or something like that, I don't know I don't have that knowledge.

Is there anything I can do, maybe recode with MakeMKV or something else so I still have these files with DTS but they can be played on the TV?
Woodstock

Re: MKV will play with VLC, not on TV, others do.

Post by Woodstock »

Backups, or MKV files? They are different formats.

Smart TVs rarely are very smart. There are a number of different video codecs out there, too, that fit the "Blu-ray specification", that aren't supported by playback devices.

H.264 is well supported; VC-1 and some of its variants are NOT. H.265 requires a relatively new TV.

If you play it with VLC, open the Information window (usually Ctrl-I) and see what the video codec in use is.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
Black Tiger

Post by Black Tiger »

Thank you for the quick answer.
Backups, or MKV files? They are different formats.