Hold my hand a bit?

MKV playback, recompression, remuxing, codec packs, players, howtos, etc.
N49ATV

Hold my hand a bit?

Post by N49ATV »

Hey guys and gals,

Im new to the ripping/encoding scene. I am tired of the son wrecking his DVDs. I have had to mail quiet a few away over the last few years. From the wifes cheap headrest DVD players in the car, to him opening his DVD player in his room.

He has a 40" LCD in his room (till we get a new place, that will go in play room). Its a Samsung LN40C540. Here is the Manual on page 26, it shows the format the internal decoder will play. What im after is to rip his blu-rays onto his 1TB HDD, and onto my 3TB MyBookLive (and upgrade to wifi stick for his TV), so that we can watch his DVDs direct through his Media Play feature on his TV. A welder buddy of mine does this with his kids TV.

Im looking for some direction, Id like to rip just the movie (from say dreamworks to credits), with no subs, to the drive. Id like to keep it at around BR quality image (1080), and keep 5.1 surround (for when I purchase myself a new TV for the theater room in the next house). Id like the target size to be around 10GB, though storage isnt a real issue. Worst case I buy a few more MBLs. But even at 10GB, or 25GB (whole movie, full quality) thats still quiet a few per 1TB. He only has maybe 20 movies total. Im not looking to convert my library (though im sure I will in time).

So where do I start? Is make MKV what I need? Handbrake? AnyDVD HD? Something else?

Thanks for your time
Smithcraft

Re: Hold my hand a bit?

Post by Smithcraft »

Hello there!

If you have a target size, then that will add more steps.

The first step is the rip the movie with MakeMKV. For Blurays, this file can be any size from a 3GB(smallest movie I know of) to 45GB(largest movie I know of). For DVDs the maximum would be 9GB for a feature that fills one disc.