Issue with MakeMKV 1.16.5 on M1 Macs running macOS Monterey (needs code signing)

The place to discuss Mac OS X version of MakeMKV
ChrisJ60

Issue with MakeMKV 1.16.5 on M1 Macs running macOS Monterey (needs code signing)

Post by ChrisJ60 »

I have been using MakeMKV on macOS for several years (I have a paid licence). Until recently this was always on an Intel Mac but now I also have an M1 based Mac. There is a disturbing issue on the M1 based Mac under macOS Monterey when using MakeMKV 1.16.5.

When I start MakeMKV it provokes a macOS prompt saying that MakeMKV wants to access files on a network volume; I click OK which should add a privilege for this under System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Files and Folders. When I try to rip a disc and I want to navigate to a specific output folder then I get a huge number of macOS prompts asking to be allowed to access e.g. a Removable volume (in this case) or Documents or Desktop or... I click OK each time. Eventually the prompts stop, I select the target location and the rip proceeds.

Next I quit from MakeMKV and I check under System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Files and Folders and, as expected, the necessary privileges have been added there. Seems okay, but...

Now I start MakeMKV again and I see the exact same behaviour. The saved privileges are not being applied to MakeMKV!

This is of course very annoying. So what to do? Well, I wondered to myself so I did the following (I am a registered Apple developer):

1. I code signed the MakeMKV app (including the two dylibs within the package).

2. I notarised the app.