Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

The place to discuss Mac OS X version of MakeMKV
Post Reply
ChrisJ60
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 3:11 pm

Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by ChrisJ60 »

I am a (registered) user of MakeMKV on macOS (Intel x64) for several years now. Very soon I must switch to a new M1 based Mac. I am concerned that MakeMKV may not work on that! I do see some posts here about running MakeMKV on M1 based Macs. Is this the Intel version running via Rosetta? Or is it a native M1 version (or a Universal version)? If it is M1/Universal, where can I get that from?

Thanks,

Chris
Woodstock
Posts: 8386
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by Woodstock »

Yes.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
dcoke22
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by dcoke22 »

It is native on Apple Silicon. Just download the Mac version… I think it is a fat binary.
nativeAppleSilicon.jpg
nativeAppleSilicon.jpg (59.85 KiB) Viewed 338 times
Post Reply