Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

The place to discuss Mac OS X version of MakeMKV
Post Reply
ChrisJ60
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 3:11 pm

Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by ChrisJ60 »

I am a (registered) user of MakeMKV on macOS (Intel x64) for several years now. Very soon I must switch to a new M1 based Mac. I am concerned that MakeMKV may not work on that! I do see some posts here about running MakeMKV on M1 based Macs. Is this the Intel version running via Rosetta? Or is it a native M1 version (or a Universal version)? If it is M1/Universal, where can I get that from?

Thanks,

Chris
Woodstock
Posts: 8498
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by Woodstock »

Yes.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
dcoke22
Posts: 772
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by dcoke22 »

It is native on Apple Silicon. Just download the Mac version… I think it is a fat binary.
nativeAppleSilicon.jpg
nativeAppleSilicon.jpg (59.85 KiB) Viewed 1593 times
SimonM
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 8:51 am

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by SimonM »

No need to fat shame... :lol:
Renkay
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2021 5:54 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by Renkay »

It’s run
macmuchmore
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:39 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by macmuchmore »

Hi - daspi_1.5 will not install in a M1 Mac. Is this needed anymore for MakeMKV? (I vaguely remember reading it does not, but I just want to be sure). Thanks!
Woodstock
Posts: 8498
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: Does MakeMKV run on M1 based Macs?

Post by Woodstock »

Daspi only needs to be installed if MakeMKV detects that it is needed. That would be on rather old versions of MacOS, not anything recent.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
Post Reply