bluray playback with VLC

The place to discuss linux version of MakeMKV
xigane

bluray playback with VLC

Post by xigane »

Hello, I used MakeMKV for quite some time to get an mkv file from a bluray disc and then be able to read it (formerly on windows, now I only have Linux).
I discovered there is a possibility to make VLC read Bluray directly thanks to makeMKV without spending 50min to create this intermediate >30Go mkv file. But since I am a perfect noob with linux I am not sure to do the things correctly.

First I installed makeMKV last version today by following this message (not the optional part), program works fine with beta key. (previously I used version found in ubuntu software list but that was apparently a "snap" thing not ok for this VLC link, I removed it before):
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=224

Then I follow this message about libmmbd for direct use with VLC :
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7009

There problems happen :
direct VLC playback can be enabled on "Integration" tab of MakeMKV preferences
This tab basically contains nothing but the link to previous message. Am I supposed to do something in this tab ?
Open terminal, navigate to directory where libmmbd is installed, and make a symlink to a location in library path. The following commands are for default installation

Code: Select all

sudo ln -s libmmbd.so.0 /usr/lib/
I don't know where "libmmbd is installed". And If I look into /usr/lib/ I already see an existing libmmbd.so.0 file with date corresponding to when I installed MakeMKV (today). So I changed nothing.

Of course, the VLC -> click Media -> Open disc -> Bluray does not work with still same error as initially (missing AACS configuration...)

What is missing ?
georgesgiralt

Re: bluray playback with VLC

Post by georgesgiralt »

Hello,
I hope you know some basics :
1) how to open a terminal
2) how to run a command as "The super User" or "root" account for your flavor of Linux.