Makemkv only using one cpu

The place to discuss linux version of MakeMKV
xeddog

Makemkv only using one cpu

Post by xeddog »

I am very new to makemkv (yesterday), but I have a couple of issues to work out. One, that is the subject of this post, is that makemkv only uses one of my 8 cpus. Is there something (easy) I can do to have makemkv use more processors?

Thanks,

X

makemkv was installed using the script from this thread.
Intel I-7 processor running Ubuntu Linux 12.04 64-bit
Woodstock

Re: Makemkv only using one cpu

Post by Woodstock »

To what end? MakeMKV is limited by the I/O speed of the optical drive and the hard drive you are writing the results to. The actual CPU overhead is quite low.

The fastest ripping machine I have here is a dual-core machine that can rip a BD and a DVD at the same time, at 5 to 17X read speeds, while running everything else. The choice of optical drives is more important than number of cores.
xeddog

Post by xeddog »

Thanks Woodstock - While I am not arguing with you, I am arguing with you. Sorta. :lol: Apparently my experience with makemkv cpu usage (as limited as it is) is not the same as what you have experienced. Here is what I observed on my machine.

While running only aMule and makemkv I looked at my system monitor and saw that one cpu was pegged at 100% It varied as to which one as when one dropped down another would immediately shoot up, but one was always at 100%. The other seven were at about 15% or below. As soon as makemkv ended, all cpu's were 15% or below. I started makemkv again and as before, one cpu shot up to 100% and stayed there until I terminated makemkv at which time they all were at the 15% mark once again. During all of this, the memory and swap usage were stagnant. Memory usage was at about 30% or so, while swap was basically zero.