SOLD - UK - Asus BW-16D1HT in OWC Mercury Pro for sale

Paid services by fellow forum members. Not affiliated with MakeMKV.
michaelsft

SOLD - UK - Asus BW-16D1HT in OWC Mercury Pro for sale

Post by michaelsft »

ITEM SOLD - Monday 27th June

Hi everyone, I’m selling my ASUS BW-16D1HT in an OWC Mercury Pro Enclosure (with a couple of Verbatim BD-R XL discs (100gb) - I don’t have the boxes and since it’s a drive, probably best to do in person pick up so as not to damage the laser I guess. I’m in Stretford, Manchester, UK - If you think the laser would be OK in the post then I could pack it up well and post it sure but I honestly don’t know how well these things travel.

I bought it last year to experiment with as part of my plan to burn some super large movie files to bd-r xl discs I bought but despite buying two blu-ray players that I hoped would play the discs, I just couldn’t get any consistent results and I gave up. I’m no expert in these things.

Firmware: ASUS-BW-16D1HT-3.10-WM01601-211901041014.bin

LibreDrive Information in MakeMKV
Drive platform: MT1959
Firmware type: Patched (microcode access re-enabled)
Firmware version: 3.10
DVD all regions: Yes
BD raw data read: Yes
BD raw metadata read: Yes
Unrestricted read speed: Yes

It has the sleep bug where you need to open/close the tray before use when the drive has been idle but I do believe you can fix it by flashing some other firmware. I just never got around to doing it.

The drive hasn’t been used for a few months now so I figure I should sell it to someone who would be able to get some use out of it. I’m happy to give someone a good deal and since all I know is the price of the items online is about £80 each for the drive and enclosure and the discs are about £10 each; I guess £100 for everything would be good.