need guidance to buy a UHD-friendly blu-ray burner and your remote-flashing charges

Paid services by fellow forum members. Not affiliated with MakeMKV.
anniyan

need guidance to buy a UHD-friendly blu-ray burner and your remote-flashing charges

Post by anniyan »

hi,
i am a novice, so please excuse my ignorance. and pardon my english, coz i am not a native speaker.

i am living in India. i am planning to buy a Blu-ray burner and some BD-R SL media through my friend in the USA. my friend has amazon prime membership, so i am planning to buy these on prime day (october 13 - 14) on amazon. i came across makemkv forums in google search.

price and successful burns are the main concern - the lower the price of the drive, the better. so i definitely DONT NEED bundled software as it will increase the price further. i don't have a desktop PC and my laptop PC does not have provision (space) for an internal drive, so i am going to use the drive through USB only; either an external (slimline or thick) drive OR an internal (slimline or thick) drive fitted with an enclosure / SATA to USB adapter would be fine. the drive should be good at making successful burns, and can read and write all latest types of CD, DVD and Blu-ray (SL, DL, TL, QL) media. in my country power-cuts are common, so optionally it would be great if the drive does not need a separate power-supply. and it would be better if it was futureproof, i.e., capable of playing as well as ripping UHD disks (though i don't have any UHD disks right now, but maybe buy some in the far future). and official UHD drives are too costly.

what drive(s) would you recommend? what can be the best price range for my specifications?