WH16NS40 Stuck at 2x Speed

Discussion of LibreDrive mode, compatible drives and firmwares
Rubiker

WH16NS40 Stuck at 2x Speed

Post by Rubiker »

Hello, everyone! I'm new to MakeMKV and ripping, and have run into the frustration of my drive being stuck at 2x speed for all my rips. (actually, it usually sits at 1.8x or 1.9x). I'll detail my setup below, and how I have it setup. Hoping someone can help me pinpoint how to speed up my drive so I don't have to sit for an hour per disc-

• Drive: WH16NS40-NS50
  • Flashed Firmware: HL-DT-ST-BD-RE_WH16NS40-NS50-1.05-NM00900-212005061440.bin
  • Enclosure: OWC Mercury Pro, Sata>USB3.0, passed through UnRaid to my VM
  • System: Windows 10 Home Virtual Machine hosted on my UnRaid server
Process:
Factory firmware 1.05 came on this new drive. I have so far flashed it only once directly to the "HL ...1440.bin" listed above (sourced from Mike's post here: https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic ... 19&t=19113). I used the built-in MakeMKV command line flasher following the "ultra haxor guide v2" video on youtube (see: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jyQV1aPlbow)

I have confirmed this process worked to unlock Libre Drive mode without issue, and have successfully ripped one of my 4K discs at slower speeds. I've read about riplock/silent play, and seen plenty of other posts saying the WH16NS40 should be ripping at closer to 4-6x speeds. I'm not sure if I missed a step, or if I have a setting wrong in my MakeMKV.

Silent Play / RipLock:
I believe my drive may have a 'silent play' option turned on, somehow. I've read about this setting tripping up other posters, and have tried going through the hardware menus in Windows 10 to find the silent play property to disable it. I could not find that option/property in any of the menus (or within the Hardware>Details>Property dropdown). See my source on that: https://www.makemkv.com/forum/viewtopic ... 370#p58370