4K UHD BD to Mac rips help for a complete novice

Forum for discussions about UHD-capable dives
EmilyDickinsonFanboy

4K UHD BD to Mac rips help for a complete novice

Post by EmilyDickinsonFanboy »

I've been walking around the internet getting lost in answers I don't understand or that contradict each other, and stumbled upon this place so I thought I'd give it a shot.

I'm just going to give you as much information as I can in the hope that some of it is useful.

2020 Intel MacBook Air. Will USB-C ports throttle the quality? Am considering getting a Pro with HDMI and am willing to wait if HDMI will improve things.
Speed of rip not really an issue. Is 6 hours reasonable? I'd be happy with that.
Also I don't care how big/ugly/portable it is. It'll be used very rarely (for example I want all three Apocalypse Now cuts in 4K UHD downloaded to my Mac and even with buying the BD set it doesn't look like I can get all 3 in those specs from the code they provide.) - actually if anyone can just answer that question I'd be sorted!
Apparently I need a drive that is "UHD friendly".
I'm really not great at technical computer stuff at all! so something as simple as possible would be great.
I'd be doing it on my only computer so anything I download/install needs to be something with a good reputation for security/anti-malware stuff.
Ideally aside from the cost of the discs and the drive I'd like it to be free!

I hope you can help. Thank you.
Pintset

Re: 4K UHD BD to Mac rips help for a complete novice

Post by Pintset »

Hello! :wink:

I will simply tell you what I bought and why, and you, if you like, can do the same. And I use Windows, but there should no be any difference.

For the drive, I got myself Pioneer BDR-XD07TUHD from Amazon Germany: https://www.amazon.de/-/en/dp/B081JX8R3 ... ct_details
MakeMKV supports new Pioneer drives as is — no firmware flashing required.