Cannot get Dolby Vision

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
FatherTime

Cannot get Dolby Vision

Post by FatherTime »

Ok. I feel really stupid. Either I'm REALLY bad at searching or my question hasn't been asked. First, total noob here. Not with tech, but with Makemkv. I cannot, for the life of me, get my rips to output Dolby Vision. I have the latest version of Makemkv, it reads fine an outputs the file correctly. I leave everything selected. When I look at the file (in the mediainfo app) only HDR10 shows. When I try to stream it the TV only gets an HDR10 signal. No DV to be found. I've tried to stream it across the local network to the Sony x700, Firestick 4k through the Kodi app and Plex app, as well as on the Sony TV Plex app. No DV to be found anywhere. I've tried ripping through Makemkv, and DVDFab with the same results. Completely lost and thinking this hobby isn't for me. Maybe just stick to playing the discs in the player. Lame. I am ripping with the LG Wh16ns40 with the correct firmware on a beast of a Windows 10 PC. Any help would be appreciated.
Last edited by FatherTime on Fri Mar 10, 2023 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dcoke22

Re: Cannot get Dolby Vision

Post by dcoke22 »

Make sure you have the latest version of MediaInfo.
MartyMcNuts

Post by MartyMcNuts »

FatherTime wrote:
Thu Mar 09, 2023 5:35 pm