Bad Discs or Bad Drive?

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
zoah666

Bad Discs or Bad Drive?

Post by zoah666 »

Hi, I've been using MakeMKV and an LG BP60NB10 for several months now ripping my 4K library onto a media server. In total I've probably ripped ~300 discs. I've only run into a few issues, some of which I could fix by cleaning the disc, but I've noted below the ones that I couldn't work around. These seem to be isolated problems. Do you guys think these are bad discs or is my drive going bad? If bad discs, am I just SOL?

Futurama Season 6, Blu-Ray Disc 1, Tracks 4, 6, 8 - Hash error (bought a second set and it threw the same errors on the same disc and tracks)

Game of Thrones Season 5, UHD Disc 2, Track 3 - Hash error

Game of Thrones Season 6, UHD Disc 3 - Disc won't load (just spins at low speed until I eventually eject it)

Game of Thrones Season 7, UHD Disc 2, Tracks 4, 5 - Read errors, Hash errors
dcoke22

Re: Bad Discs or Bad Drive?

Post by dcoke22 »

It is tough to say since each error is unique. That said, I have 3 different drives. It has been my experience that some discs just don't like some drives. My default process now is try to rip with my 'main' drive, which usually works. If that doesn't work, I just try the disc in a different drive. Most of the time (not all the time) the disc works fine in a second, different drive. If it won't work in any of my drives, I resort to cleaning the disc. I think I've only had 2 discs that wouldn't rip and had to be replaced.

As a side note, MakeMKV support ripping from multiple drives at the same time. In Preferences -> IO turn on Ask for Single Drive mode. You can then tie an instance of MakeMKV to a single drive (for the current session) and create a second MakeMKV instance to tie to your other drive. This makes ripping multi-disc seasons of TV shows faster.
ARazorbacks

Post by ARazorbacks »