UHD rips are dark in brightness for some reason?

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
AkaiGX

UHD rips are dark in brightness for some reason?

Post by AkaiGX »

Hello all!

I'm fairly new to ripping discs and was seeking some help. For reference, I'm using an LG BU40N drive. I've just gotten everything set up and have successfully ripped a few movies. I've got an issue when ripping specifically UHD movies; they turn out dark in terms of brightness! I have used many different playback softwares, but the ripped version is still dark no matter what software I use. Perhaps something in MakeMKV that I have to do in order to not rip them so dark?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Woodstock

Re: UHD rips are dark in brightness for some reason?

Post by Woodstock »

Examples would be helpful. There are a number of UHD disks that have video that encodes more bits, intended to increase the dynamic range, which could affect playback.
MartyMcNuts

Post by MartyMcNuts »

AkaiGX wrote:
Thu Dec 21, 2023 4:47 am
Hello all!

I'm fairly new to ripping discs and was seeking some help. For reference, I'm using an LG BU40N drive. I've just gotten everything set up and have successfully ripped a few movies. I've got an issue when ripping specifically UHD movies; they turn out dark in terms of brightness! I have used many different playback softwares, but the ripped version is still dark no matter what software I use. Perhaps something in MakeMKV that I have to do in order to not rip them so dark?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Are you watching them on a UHD tv/monitor?
Cheers :D
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
For UHD enabled drives (AU/NZ/SG + Others) & DIY Single Drive Flasher (WW): https://uhdenableddrives.com
AkaiGX

Post by AkaiGX »