Avatar the way of water/ John Wick 4

Please post here for issues related to UHD discs
unclebubbies

Avatar the way of water/ John Wick 4

Post by unclebubbies »

Trying to back up both movies and I get this:
Automatic HK downloading is disabled or failed.
Saved AACS dump file as
The volume key is unknown for this disc - video can't be decrypted
Failed to open disc

These are brand-new discs from Amazon. Right out of the package. Is this common for a new title?
Is patience needed or do I do something else?
Woodstock

Re: Avatar the way of water/ John Wick 4

Post by Woodstock »

yes, if the title has not been decoded yet, you'll get an error... And as long as your download of the HK data is blocked, it won't be able to fix itself.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
unclebubbies

Post by unclebubbies »

So does this mean someone at makemkv are actively working on discs like these to decode?
I'm new to this and don't know the process?
Woodstock

Post by Woodstock »

Given that others have thanked Mike for making these particular titles work, yes, it does.

Your computer is complaining that it cannot contact the HK server to get the updates. That happens for a lot of people due to the server that hosts to update files being in Russia, but it doesn't mean they CANNOT be decoded.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
JohnWad

Post by JohnWad »

Hi all I'm a newbie,
I believe i've read all as to why John Wick 4 wont decode but,,,
I don't see an answer how to fix the connection to the HK server or how to fix at all..

Please be gentle with your answers.. :roll:

Thanks..
dcoke22

Post by dcoke22 »

JohnWad wrote:
Tue Jun 27, 2023 9:04 pm
Hi all I'm a newbie,
I believe i've read all as to why John Wick 4 wont decode but,,,
I don't see an answer how to fix the connection to the HK server or how to fix at all..