Cutting out inappropriate scenes

Everything related to MakeMKV
Folan

Cutting out inappropriate scenes

Post by Folan »

Hello, I'm very new to Blurays and ripping in general, I got myself an LG WH14NS40 and flashed the firmware, it says LibreDrive Enabled so in theory it should be able to rip UHD Blu-rays, but still haven't ripped any since I don't have any yet, and I wanted to ask:

If I rip a movie, what is the best way to cut out inappropriate scenes so I can watch the movie with my family? I'm quite familiar with Davinci Resolve, but:
- What export settings should I use?
- Will it break the metadata of the movie and Plex and or Jellyfin won't be able to recognize it?
- Will it break the surround sound or Dolby Atmos?

This might be a trivial question since I'm new to this, so I hope you go easy on me.. but rest assured, I'm a fast learner :)
Radiocomms237

Re: Cutting out inappropriate scenes

Post by Radiocomms237 »

LOL, I'd say that is the polar-opposite of a "trivial question"!

MakeMKV cannot do what you're after, it basically just copies entire files from one medium to another.

The easiest way would be to rip the movie using MakeMKV, then watch it and note down the timecodes when the objectionable scenes begin & end, then split the movie into parts using MKVToolnix, then append all the parts you want to keep back together, again using MKVToolnix.

Although, the end result won't be pretty.

You could make a neater job of it using a video editing suite, just be aware that most of these will only allow you to load the movie with one single audio track and no subs, whereas MKVToolnix will cut and reassemble all audio and subtitle tracks simultaneously, and edit the chapter edition(s) for you as well.
dcoke22

Post by dcoke22 »

Folan wrote:
Sun May 26, 2024 5:41 pm
- Will it break the metadata of the movie and Plex and or Jellyfin won't be able to recognize it?