External Hard Drives

Everything related to MakeMKV
Motoxxx

External Hard Drives

Post by Motoxxx »

Hello,
I'm kinda new to all this, just trying to understand all mkv stuff.
I just ordered a pre flashed drive from a member here.
I just want to rip bluray and 4k movies and then plug it in my Sony OLED TV.
What storage should i use? I'm thinking about external drive, what External Hard Drives do you guys recommend?
Sorry if this the wrong section.

Thanks in advance.
Chris
Woodstock

Re: External Hard Drives

Post by Woodstock »

Depends on what you need. I have a pair of Synology drives that feed my video to "everything", but they use a number of network capabilities to fit their environment. Some people use drives that attach to their servers, rather than "net drives" like I do. It has nothing to do with MKV files, per say, because I have both MKV and MP4 files for video, and other file for other reasons. My clients are TVs, as well as Linux and Windows computers.

What do you want to be able to read the system? Is your TV going to be directly accessing? Does it read a particular network better?
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
Motoxxx

Post by Motoxxx »

Thanks for the quick response,
I don't know a lot of computer stuff, just the basics.
I just want to rip the movies to the external hard drive or whatever the easiest and then plug it my tv or avr. What are your recommendations? I don't have a lot blu-ray or 4k movies
Chris
jinx100

Post by jinx100 »

I watch my movies from a hard drive connected to the TV USB port. I just looked at an original rip of Top Gun Maverick BR and it played fine on a Samsung TV from a WD Passport portable drive. Keep in mind that the MKV file is 32GB so that would be about 30 movies on a 1TB drive. Read your Sony TV manual carefully to verify it accepts MKV containers with H264 and H265 video plus AAC and AC3 audio streams.