Being Asked To Start Eval Period Every Time

Everything related to MakeMKV
ImSpartacus

Post by ImSpartacus »

I've been using MakeMKV for a couple years to casually watch Blu Rays from my local public library on my Windows 7 desktop PC and it's been fantastic. Major kudos to the dev team.

Recently, every time I start up MakeMKV, I'm asked to start a new 30 day evaluation period. After clicking "yes", MakeMKV works fine and will successfully rip the Blu Ray, but the next time I use MakeMKV (sometimes minutes after), it'll ask to start up the same evaluation period. How can I get an evaluation period to actually "start"?

That wouldn't be a big deal, however I'm just a casual user that isn't interested in permanently storing rips of Blu Rays. Therefore, I rigged up some simple symbolic links VLC (for Windows) to use MakeMKV's libmmbd.dll for its libaacs.dll & libbdplus.dll files. That way, VLC can just play the Blu Rays in real time. Historically, I need to start up MakeMKV after entering a new beta key in order to "start" the new evaluation period. Then I can use VLC to my heart's content. So that's why it's important for me to figure out how to actually "start" the evaluation period.

I appreciate the assistance from the community!
Woodstock

Re: Being Asked To Start Eval Period Every Time

Post by Woodstock »

The Bluray functionality has different rules than DVD functionality, because it's the part of MakeMKV that require the most frequent updating. That's why it has a 30-day limit on evaluation, but it USUALLY counts down from 30, after your initial use.

There are really only two solutions to keeping the message from popping up - registering, and leaving MakeMKV running all the time.

The way you're running it now, it starts MakeMKV each time VLC asks for its help, and shuts it down when VLC is done. By starting it and leaving it running, you only get one start-up message.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions