DTS HD 7.1 goes to 5.1 in the mkv file

Everything related to MakeMKV
PegasusRider

DTS HD 7.1 goes to 5.1 in the mkv file

Post by PegasusRider » Sun Oct 04, 2015 10:16 pm

The movie is being read as 7.1 in the MA and a 5.1 below that as the next selection. I would say based on what I've been able to read that the second entry is the DTS core and unnecessary if you are taking the MA (master?) track.

Assuming that is correct...

Why is the disc reporting 7.1, but MakeMKV is copying out 5.1? Even though it retains the 7.1 text there are only 6 channels of audio.

I'm fairly new to caring about the audio fidelity, so I probably have something set up wrong.

I've tried searching about a 100 ways, but with the site issues the last few days, that's been... fun. Here and there I've found some hints, but not sure what applies now that dtsdecoderdll.dll is now "built in" (or at least it's functionality). I've also tried some other software to extract the audio directly from the disc, but since MakeMKV came along other "ripping" software became pretty useless to me, so I can't actually get readable files that way either. :/

So... since MakeMKV is pulling out complete streams, I must have something set wrong... or it's doing it wrong in the first place. Or the disc is lying but I don't know how to verify. Or some other silly thing I haven't thought of.

At any rate, thanks in advance for any assistance and/or illumination in this. :)

PegasusRider

Re: DTS HD 7.1 goes to 5.1 in the mkv file

Post by PegasusRider » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:35 am

OH! So sorry.

If it is a stream extraction, I don't get why you have to write it with the FLAC profile option selected to actually get 7.1 instead of 5.1... I vaguely recall this being said somewhere but I didn't understand it at the time, and of late had hoped it had changed (especially since I couldn't find the pertinent info anyway :( ). If there was an explanation of why this was necessary I missed it.