Aspect Ratio and other questions (please help)

Everything related to MakeMKV
Morgolking

Aspect Ratio and other questions (please help)

Post by Morgolking »

Hi,

I'm new to makemkv and am not the most tech savvy person. I've been ripping my blu-rays for my personal use on my home cpu but when I play the mkv file using VLC, GOM or any of my video playback software the aspect ratio is strange.

The playback does not fill up all the way to the ends of the monitor horizontally. I can fill up the screen by choosing the option to "fill screen" with my player but every player automatically displays an aspect ratio that is smaller than the screen. Am I ripping incorrectly or losing quality from the original source?

My second question is: When I choose to rip a blu-ray sometimes the movie/tv show will be the largest file and I simply choose to rip that; however, sometimes there are multiple files that are pretty much the same size and are obviously the movie but with different language options -- do I need to select all boxes with the movie to make sure I don't lose video/audio quality?

Last question: What happens when I select HD audio and 5.1 audio to be ripped together? Will both be part of the file and what determines which audio is played back when watching the movie/tv show?

Thank you in advance.

Note: This is a repost from the Blu-ray error thread -- I think the question is more appropriate here. Thank you.
Morgolking

Re: Aspect Ratio and other questions (please help)

Post by Morgolking »

Just want to clarify. I rewatched the mkv file and the automatic ratio is 1908 x 959 for all my mkv rips is. It should be 1920 x 1080.

Why is that? Am I losing video quality with my rips?
Devore

Post by Devore »