Question concerning opinion on quality vs size.

Everything related to MakeMKV
rockstartower

Question concerning opinion on quality vs size.

Post by rockstartower »

I'm not an expert on makemkv but I believe I have the basics down.

So far I have ripped blu-ray movies two ways. The first is by doing a disc backup. I'll find the m2ts file that has the main movie on it and open it with handbrake and convert it using MKV container and keep the audio as passthrough and the rest I will usually us rf at 18 and the same ratio as native. The end result is usually somewhere between 6-9 gig file. The audio is the exact same as the original with DTS. However the image is (almost) identical. I have a 42 inch 1080p tv and I cant really tell any difference from the original.

My question is, is the difference from the original to the compressed more noticeable on a larger display? Like if you have a projector screen or a 65 inch tv? I don't want to compress all these movies thinking that i'm not missing out on anything and then later when I buy a much larger display find out that they don't compare to the original.

I'm just curious what methods you guys use. With storage becoming cheaper and cheaper it's becoming a lot more tempting for me to just keep the files in the original format and not worry about handbrake or any compression whatsoever. I don't know though, i'm a little torn on what to do. If you guys want to persuade me to one way or the other that may help an indecisive person like me.
DaveQ

Re: Question concerning opinion on quality vs size.

Post by DaveQ »