Metadata

Everything related to MakeMKV
Simon514

Metadata

Post by Simon514 »

Hello!

Is there a program out there to add and/or change metadata on a file? I have many files from over the years that every time I re-built a library in Plex, I have to redo the metadata all over again as they didn't seem to stick (glue? I don't know how to say it in English sorry!) when I priorly already changed it with Plex (dumb a** me erased my whole library TWICE when I started using Plex and didn't quite understand how it worked, still don't most of the time!).

Also, right now I am ripping DVDs of a few series and while MakeMkv do rip them with the right disc title, Plex doesn't seem to recognize each single episodes so I have to add the metadata all manually.

Is there a program out there that I can tell, say, AbFab season 4, and boom, it automatically adds the right metadata and make it stick for eternity? I am fairly new to ripping DVDs so I would like to do it the right way. I would also like to be able to add cover/poster art

I am very used to rip CDs and dBpoweramp works wonder and offers few different options for metadata and it works great with FLAC. I know that WAV files can be tricky but I don't use them. Also DSD files don't work with every programs for glueing metadata to it. My understanding is that MKV is the FLAC for visual, open source and easy to work with and add anything to it. But alas, so far, I haven't found a program that is the equivalent of dBpoweramp or Mp3Tags for DVDs.

Again, sorry for the long message but I would like to rip a few series and they seem more tedious to do than movies and having done CDs for years, I know doing it the right way the first time around is the way to go and I am trying to find my way here.

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
segfaulted

Re: Metadata

Post by segfaulted »