I'm very new to all this, but I just want to make sure I have everything I need before I start.

Everything related to MakeMKV
yetain

I'm very new to all this, but I just want to make sure I have everything I need before I start.

Post by yetain »

Hey, I'm kinda new to all this, but I've been motivated to start making some personal fan edits of movies I bought on Blu-Ray and I was just wondering what I'd need exactly to get started. I'm sorry if this isn't the place to ask, I'm just generally unsure where to get started, so if it isn't, I apologize. I only have MakeMKV for obvious reasons, though I didn't install it yet. I'm not looking to rip Ultra HD stuff, as I've learned from browsing a bit on here, that takes more effort to modify certain things, so all I'm doing is standard Blu-Rays. To my knowledge, all I need is:

Video editing software - Got it

MakeMKV - Got it

Some kind of Blu-Ray reader for my computer

The reader is basically the only thing I'm unsure about and I'm also unsure if there's anything that I missed. I looked around on Amazon and there are a lot of Blu-Ray readers, but a lot of the cheaper ones have certain reviews that they quit working after a number of months and the more expensive ones are out of my price range, so if anyone has any recommendations as far as that goes, it's much appreciated. Thank you so much!
Woodstock

Re: I'm very new to all this, but I just want to make sure I have everything I need before I start.

Post by Woodstock »

Rather surprised you haven't looked at the "UHD Drives" portion of the forum, where Ultimate UHD Drives Flashing Guide Updated 2023 comes up quite prominently. It describes pretty much everything you're asking about.
Radiocomms237

Re: I'm very new to all this, but I just want to make sure I have everything I need before I start.

Post by Radiocomms237 »