Protected .mkv

Everything related to MakeMKV
fulwell_mag

Protected .mkv

Post by fulwell_mag »

Hello im new to ripping Bluray and have now become slightly obsessed with doing it! Im after some help. MakeMKV is a fantastic product I have to say and can rip my bluray to a full size .mkv file. The problem I have, when I try to open this ripped .mkv with handbreak of ripbot264 it reports it as protected! I want to run these software to change the audio codec and get the overall size down to a manageable size.

Now I believe MakeMKV should remove this protection, am I right in thinking this? Im currently trialling the software, im looking at AnyDVD if this cant do it but I would like to keep using MakeMKV if I can. The protection on said Bluray is AACv4. I can however copy my copy of Wall-E fine, handbreak opens it fine and gets the file down to 2.2GB from 20GB!

Please help!
fulwell_mag

Re: Protected .mkv

Post by fulwell_mag »

Apologies, ignore this I have read through the tutorials. Being a male I don’t usually read tutorials first! I believe I need to make a backup first then convert to .mkv, thanks for anyone that has looked at this
setarip_old

Post by setarip_old »

Hi!
I believe I need to make a backup first then convert to .mkv
No, this is not correct.

If you use MakeMKV DIRECTLY (No other programs like DVDFab Passkey or AnyDVD running in either foreground or background) with your original, commercial Blu-ray disc as your source, MakeMKV should produce unprotected, decrypted .MKV files...

fulwell_mag

Post by fulwell_mag »

Thanks for the reply,

I must be doing something wrong then...