CAN A VIRIS BE INSTALLED ON DISC FROM MANUFACTURER?

Everything related to MakeMKV
Post Reply
saltmar14
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2016 7:35 am

CAN A VIRIS BE INSTALLED ON DISC FROM MANUFACTURER?

Post by saltmar14 »

I WAS COPYING GAME OF THRONES THAT A FRIEND ASKED ME TO COPY FOR HIM, AS I GOT TO SEASON 5 FILE EXPLORER STARTED TO SLOW DOWN BY THE END OF SEASON 6 IT WOULD NOT SHOW THE THUMB NAILS AND WOULD NOT LET ME RENAME THE EPISODE. THEN FILE EXPLORER WOULD TRY TO LOAD BUT WOULDN'T WORK PROPERLY. I COULD PLAY THE SHOW. SOMEONE SUGGESTED THAT THE STUDIO MAY HAVE ADDED A VIRUS TO PREVENT COPYPNG.
Woodstock
Posts: 8941
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: CAN A VIRIS BE INSTALLED ON DISC FROM MANUFACTURER?

Post by Woodstock »

In theory, yes.

In actuality, not recently.

It's been a dozen years since a LEGITIMATE disk company (Sony) tried that, and they did it on a CD, rather than a DVD or BD.

It's actually easier to do on a video disk, but a bigger no-no for most legitimate vendors. I have not heard of GoT being used in this way.

By the way, "all caps" is harder to read on modern computer hardware. You might want to start using mixed case.
MakeMKV Frequently Asked Questions
How to aid in finding the answer to your problem: Activating Debug Logging
exitguy
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 6:10 am

Re: CAN A VIRIS BE INSTALLED ON DISC FROM MANUFACTURER?

Post by exitguy »

saltmar14 wrote:
Fri Sep 23, 2022 2:14 am
I WAS COPYING GAME OF THRONES THAT A FRIEND ASKED ME TO COPY FOR HIM, AS I GOT TO SEASON 5 FILE EXPLORER STARTED TO SLOW DOWN BY THE END OF SEASON 6 IT WOULD NOT SHOW THE THUMB NAILS AND WOULD NOT LET ME RENAME THE EPISODE. THEN FILE EXPLORER WOULD TRY TO LOAD BUT WOULDN'T WORK PROPERLY. I COULD PLAY THE SHOW. SOMEONE SUGGESTED THAT THE STUDIO MAY HAVE ADDED A VIRUS TO PREVENT COPYPNG.
There is no need to YELL !!!
Post Reply